Real Lawyers. Real Results.
Accidents happen. Nobody plans to get in a car accident, but when an automobile collision happens, know your rights, responsibilities, and what you should (and should not) do. This is a basic guide for motor vehicle accidents. For more information and for a free case evaluation with a Myrtle Beach car accident lawyer, call us today at (843) 881-8644 or contact us online.
There were over 1,000 car crash deaths on South Carolina roads in 2016. About every nine hours a person dies from a motor vehicle collision (South Carolina Department of Public Safety Collision Fact Book).
Car accidents can occur for any number of reasons. What’s important for victims is that when they are the result of negligence, they can often recover compensation. Here are some of the more common causes of accidents in the Myrtle Beach area:
Whether with another car, truck, motorcycle, bicyclist or pedestrian, motor vehicle accidents are often serious. First, you should safely stop your car. Is anyone hurt or unsafe? If any vehicle is damaged, drivers must stop and exchange their information (such as your driver’s license, insurance card, and registration). If the accident results in damage over $1,000, injury or death, and if not investigated by law enforcement, you must report it to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 15 days after the accident (South Carolina Law §56-5-1270). You should never leave the scene of an accident until it is appropriate to do so; otherwise, if there are substantial injuries or death, you will face significant criminal consequences as a hit and run driver.
Emotions often are high after a car accident, and it’s important to keep composed. At the scene of an accident:
After the car accident, diligently follow up. You should:
Many states have no-fault automobile laws, which mean that an injured driver must use his own automobile insurance (up to a certain limit).
South Carolina works differently because it is a fault state. Being a ‘fault state’ means if you have property damage, medical bills and/or other damages, you can first look to the at-fault driver to pay for those. Important note: You must be less than 50 percent (50%) at-fault. This can be a complex area of car accident law, and you should consult an experienced attorney for guidance.
Are you entitled to recover damages for your injuries? Every car accident differs, of course. If the other driver was negligent (at fault), you may be compensated for physical injuries, financial loss, and emotional pain. Compensation may include:
Your attorney can help determine your case’s merits and estimate the damages you may be able to recover.
Possibly. If you are hurt in an accident and believe a roadway defect caused the crash, you should consider hiring an attorney. Among other things, an experienced attorney like those found at the Hughey Law Firm should help you:
The boss is not automatically liable or ‘at fault’ even if the driver used a company car. There are several grounds (or legal theories) that may come into play:
Your experienced motor vehicle accident attorney can help you navigate this maze, including bringing claims (filing suit) against the careless driver and his employer.
If you or someone you know was hurt in a car accident, don’t delay as you may lose important rights. Call the Hughey Law Firm right away at (843) 881-8644 or contact us online. Our experienced team will make you our priority. We have significant experience with car accidents and injuries throughout the state of South Carolina, including Myrtle Beach and its surrounding areas. There’s no charge to speak with one of our dedicated professionals. We will answer your questions, evaluate your case, discuss your options, and develop an effective, cohesive plan to get you the compensation you deserve.
Call 843-881-8644 or fill out the form below. Back to Top